Senate Confirms Aisha As CBN Deputy Governor

The Nigerian senate has approved the confirmation of the nomination of two Deputy CBN Governors and other MPC nominees.

Aisha Ahmad
The Senate has confirmed the appointments of Mrs. Aisha Ahmad and Mr. Edward Adamu as Deputy Governors of the Central Bank of Nigeria. Three of the nominated members the Monetary Policy Committee were also approved, while one was rejected.
The MPC members confirmed are Prof. Adeola Festus Adenikinju, Dr. Aliyu Rafindadi Sanusi and Dr. Robert Chikwendu Asogwa. Rejected is Dr. Asheikh A. Maidugu.
A Punch report revealed that the confirmation followed the adoption of the reports by the Senate Committee ‎on Banking, Insurance and Other Financial Institutions, which screened the nominees last week.
In the report on the MPC nominees presented by Chairman of the committee, Senator Rafiu Ibrahim, the panel said Maidugu was considered not qualified to occupy the position for which he was nominated.
“I would like to thank the Committee on Banking and Finance and all our colleagues for this action today,” Senate President Bukola Saraki said shortly the confirmation.
“We promised the country last week that within a week we would carry out this confirmation and we have done this,” he added.

Skip to toolbar